Karibu Tanzania!

I have been in Tanzania for an entire week now!! It seems like so much longer, in a god way. I am one of 59 education Peace Corps volunteers doing training together. Everyone I’ve talked to in depth shares a passion for the same thing that brought us all here, but also has an amazing, unique story of their own. We just finished our first week of 8am-5pm sessions to learn a lot of general, medical and safety information, Swahili language, Tanzanian culture and history, survival skills and plenty of other things to prepare us for what lies ahead.

Yesterday we went to explore Dar es Salaam. It was a Sunday and many shops were closed, so it was not nearly as crowded as it would be on a normal day. It was still quite a experience as we drove the busy streets, and tried to blend in. They drive on the left side of the road, which is enough to get (re-)used to, but there are also so many motorcycles and bikes weaving through traffic. I’m starting to see why we are not allowed to drive while we’re here. There is so much to look at around every corner, and I will post photos as soon as I have them. I did not bring my camera yesterday, but will be taking more photos in the coming weeks as I get to a more permanent location.

Tomorrow morning we will drive about 6 hours north to a village called Korogwe, which I already labeled on my map. We will be split into groups of 5 for a more in-depth look at the language and culture, and begin some observations in classrooms. Korogwe will be our home for the next 3 months, where we will each live with a separate host family. I can’t wait to meet my host family! We will do a lot of training with the other volunteers, but will begin to have our own experiences with Tanzanians that we will get to know very well.

All is well here, and I’ll try to post again as I get settled in with my family. Thanks for reading,

-R

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Karibu Tanzania!

  1. Nik

    You’re the man Ryan! Glad to hear things are going well. I hope the gods are smiling upon you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

