Site Announcements!!!

Today we had site announcements!!!

The 56 sites we were assigned are spread over 14 regions, all over the country. I have been placed in Rukwa, in west Tanzania. I am the only volunteer in my class to get assigned there, increasing the grand total number of Peace Corps Volunteers in Rukwa to a whopping 3. Many of the other Peace Corps Volunteers apologized to me after hearing that I was being sent alone. I could not be more excited by this fact. I cannot wait to explore the less traveled regions of Tanzania and truly immerse myself into the culture and language. More than anything, my placement tells me that Peace Corps believes in my abilities as a Swahili speaker and as a teacher to be able to operate with very little contact with other Americans. I’m not saying it will be easy. I don’t want it to be easy. “We do these things not because they are easy, but because they are hard.”  I realize that is a quote from Kennedy’s speech about going to the Moon, and not starting the Peace Corps.  However, it is somehow easier to draw comparisons:  I am going to a land very unknown to me, I will be one of three Americans there and the journey takes about three days…

I will be teaching biology and physics at Mpui Secondary School, in Mpui, Rukwa, Tanzania for the next 2 years. I don’t know many details of my site or town or even region yet. I think that is why I am so excited. Next week I will be visiting the two current volunteers in the region and I’ll be staying a couple of nights at my new home to test it out. As I learn more about my future living situation I will keep you up to date. Thanks for reading.

With Love,

Ryan

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Site Announcements!!!

  1. Linda Lemon

    If anyone can ‘go it alone’ you can! “I took the one less traveled by, and that has made all the difference.” Robert Frost

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

