Time to dust off the old blog…

Wow! I’ve been in Tanzania for over a year now and the time is flying! It’s been a looooong time since posting on here, so this post will be all over the board.

I have been back at my site for a couple of weeks now, after traveling through the north of the country. I met up with some friends I hadn’t seen in a long time and went on Safari at Lake Manyara and Ngorongoro Crater and even hiked up Mount Kilimanjaro! So much fun to reconnect with everyone while also crossing off major bucket list items. I’ve wanted to hike Kilimanjaro for years, and I finally did it. It took us 6 days through the snow and cold and elevations I’ve never reached before, and it was well worth it. The hike is worthy of a post of its own, but this will have to suffice for now.

image

Here’s my selfie of “Ryan and the Lions,” at Ngorongoro Crater Conservation Area.

image

My Kilimanjaro summit photo, both saying peace and highlighting my 2nd of the 7 summits! (the other being a very easy walkabout up Kosciusko in Australia)

After the typical tourist loop I spent a little time hanging out at some other volunteers sites in Same district and doing some day hikes. It was a nice change of pace from the go-go-go! just before. From there we travelled to Tanga to celebrate the 4th of July. A ridiculous percentage of Peace Corps Tanzania was there for the festivities. We went out to a sandbar just off the coast where we could be as American as we desired without disturbing the locals. As the party went on, the tide rose and we all had to hurry back to shore before our venue disappeared.

image

On the way to the sandbar… “The Americans are coming! The Americans are coming!”

image

My class of Education 2015 volunteers! So great to see so many wonderful people all in one place. ☺

After my travels, I headed back to Dar es Salaam to help welcome the new class of education volunteers. I was one of two lucky resource volunteers to be there and answer all their questions. They are all so excited to be here and I’m excited to have some of them come out and be my new site mates! Karibuni Rukwa!!!

image

Welcome to Tanzania ED 2016! Sorry I photo bombed your welcome photo. See if you can find me in there with all those bright faces! 😊

Now I am back at site. Yes, I do actually teach physics here. We had June and most of July off and I took full advantage. But things here are back in session and I’m loving it! I had to say farewell to my site mates from ED 14 (you will be greatly missed!!)  and am now able to relax at site for an extended period of time, before showing the new folks the ins and outs of Rukwa in September.

image

See you stateside, Sarah and Jason. I could not have asked for better site mates than you both. I look up to you both and love you so much! Rukwa misses you already!

Now that I’m locked into school mode again I’m spending a lot of time with my students. They love to see my photos and hear about my adventures, and it’s a great way to practice their English, and for me to practice my Kiswahili. I’m so thankful that I can enjoy time here at site with the other teachers and my students. So many truly amazing people.

We are gearing up for an annular solar eclipse on September 1st, luckily best viewable from Tanzania. My students are getting excited to experience something that they learned about in the classroom and have a field trip without actually having to leave our school. With the help of Astronomers Without Borders, I’m hoping to get solar glasses so we can all safely view the eclipse here at school. Check out their campaign page on the link above.

Peace and Love.  Thanks for reading.

– Ryan

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

